Author Topic: [TF2]Trapsmith [BugTesting]  (Read 3704 times)

Smilax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • I make things for tf2.
    • View Profile
    • Email
[TF2]Trapsmith [BugTesting]
« on: August 24, 2011, 05:45:25 PM »
"Trap Lore",
"Every level grants you a greater clockwork effect. Max level gives trap(ward) immunity. Passive",false,4);

"Apprentice Trapsmith",
 "You gain a knowledge of traps & can place them faster 10/8/6/3.5. Passive",false,4);

"Trap Limit",
"Increases the amount of traps you can lay. 3/4/5/7",false,4);

"Trap List",
" Takes 5 seconds to lay a trap. +Ultimate",true,4);

AddMenuItem(menu, "0", "Remove Trap(s)| Skill levels list more traps");
AddMenuItem(menu, "1", "Air Trap - Launches into air at great heights | Single");
AddMenuItem(menu, "2", "Explosive Trap - Damage + Ignites | AOE");
AddMenuItem(menu, "3", "Earth Trap - Damage + Root | AOE");
AddMenuItem(menu, "4", "PitFall Trap - Burys + Jarate Effect | Single");
AddMenuItem(menu, "7", "Gravity Trap - enemys float away | AOE");
AddMenuItem(menu, "8", "Buff Trap - 1000 Foot Defence Buff | AOE");

You can place traps within 100 units of your view.

Glad to finnaly be done with this.

I'll be adding sounds later but for right now I just want to rest with this one.

Updated

Gravity trap should work now & fixed a bug with being able to place 20 - 30 mines if you spammed the keys

Vulpone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [TF2]Trapsmith [BugTesting]
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2011, 12:02:57 AM »
Looks fun! Takes the whole concept of planting stuff to a whole new level.
I cannot test it, goddarn, since I've never taken the time to learn TF2 :(
I've got it on my Mac, so I'll learn to play it later. : o )

However, I hope - DON'T get me wrong, Smilax - this doesn't get packaged again..
I can see how a shortage of TF2 races might make Ownz reconsider, but that's NOT what a cross-gaming mod is supposed to be.
I personally believe that compatibility is ESSENTIAL.
For that reason, JUST for that one, I'll learn to play TF2, so I can port my ideas to TF2.

And all I can do is recommend the same thing!


PS: Arrays as such aren't that much of a branf*ck as a lot of people think! :d
If you still want to learn Arrays, or C and C++ while we're at it, I recommend reading some books. I'd recommend my series on C->C++->Obj. C, but it's for mac, so nonono.
Knowing the basics makes Sourcemod such a.. logical process.


Looking forward to more races from you!
Also, give Glider some credit : o). Judging from what you wrote in the .sp, he saved your arse :p.

PPS: LOL didnt know glider was Ted Theodore Logan - LOVE your races, dude. The most beautiful, tidiest and smart code I've ever read! (on here, that is)
Sapere aude!

Smilax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • I make things for tf2.
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [TF2]Trapsmith [BugTesting]
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2011, 07:35:58 AM »
I did, do you not see the million comments in there?  I only posted it because he wanted me to.
EDIT: Oh in the post lol

Well I had my own version, it was messy but it would have worked. However gliders looks a lot cleaner (& took me a lot longer to implement).

But yes, this is built off of gliders constructor races prop code for the spawning of props.

Quote
However, I hope - DON'T get me wrong, Smilax - this doesn't get packaged again..
I can see how a shortage of TF2 races might make Ownz reconsider, but that's NOT what a cross-gaming mod is supposed to be.
I personally believe that compatibility is ESSENTIAL.
For that reason, JUST for that one, I'll learn to play TF2, so I can port my ideas to TF2.

I have no idea what the hell you're babbling about.
1. This could be converted to work across all platforms with a little work.
2. I don't see why you would care if a race is packaged or not, & even if they are I still don't see the big deal.
"Oh nooo it takes up 20 kb of space, now I have to disable it how horrriibbbllleeee"
3. I just do this for fun & hopefully so more people start making stuff for tf2. 1.6 & sources effects from what i've seen are horrible.




Glider⠠⠵

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 472
  • ⠠⠵
    • View Profile
Re: [TF2]Trapsmith [BugTesting]
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2011, 08:55:20 AM »
Glad I could give you a foundation with my Constructor race. I'll prolly borrow some of this races code back when I make the Trapper for L4D 8). I have a text file with ideas for it but you were my guinea pig to actually execute them :P.

Quote
DisplayDestructionMenu(client) //Straight up copyed gliders destruction menu code, i'm so sick of working on this race.

I like me some good comments  ;D

Quote
PPS: LOL didnt know glider was Ted Theodore Logan - LOVE your races, dude. The most beautiful, tidiest and smart code I've ever read! (on here, that is)

Yeah, I'm Foolishfox/TedTheodoreLogan/TylerDurden/Glider. I decided to stick with Glider for good now though.. Used to be more active releasing stuff for CS:S and TF2 but right now I'm just working on porting War3Source to L4D and running my own little W3S L4D server (probably the only one out there :P). Most of my old races were pretty fugly though, I learned a lot by now (I'm just gonna assume the compliment was directed at me, if not I'll probably look like a huge jackass so no different than before :D.

Quote
However, I hope - DON'T get me wrong, Smilax - this doesn't get packaged again..

The goal when posting here is to get public feedback, beta test reports aswell as providing more fun for the whole War3Source community, not to get stuff packaged. When I was starting out with W3S I was quite disappointed with the lack of content on the forums (especially for TF2) wich was the whole reason for me to pick up SourcePawn in the first place (and I think I've come a long way by now :]). I'm glad for every bit of content posted. Learning material is great, actual content for servers is great.

Whatever helps the community to grow so we can have more developers actually developing and releasing things.

iceman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
Re: [TF2]Trapsmith [BugTesting]
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2011, 11:01:57 AM »
Nice work on the race smilax, After getting some feedback from the players the traps seem to be too obvious. made some changes on the models

Code: [Select]
models/weapons/shells/shell_cigarrette.mdl
models/weapons/shells/shell_shotgun.mdl
models/weapons/shells/shell_sniperrifle.mdl

And this was spamming everyone
Code: [Select]
PrintToChatAll( "Your arms can't reach that far." );

iceman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
Re: [TF2]Trapsmith [BugTesting]
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2013, 04:12:36 PM »
Well, It's time to bump some of these old submissions i could use some help please.

Code: [Select]
iceman: spendskills
L 07/19/2013 - 16:59:38: [SM] Native "GetEntityNetClass" reported: Invalid entit
y (-1 - -1)
L 07/19/2013 - 16:59:38: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "w3s\War3So
urce_054_Trapsmith.smx":
L 07/19/2013 - 16:59:38: [SM]   [0]  Line 465, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\include\entity.inc::GetEntSendPr
opOffs()
L 07/19/2013 - 16:59:38: [SM]   [1]  Line 403, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\include\entity_prop_stocks.inc::
SetEntityRenderColor()
L 07/19/2013 - 16:59:38: [SM]   [2]  Line 677, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\War3Source_054_Trapsmith.sp::Gra
vityTimer()
L 07/19/2013 - 17:00:14: [SM] Native "GetEntityNetClass" reported: Invalid entit
y (-1 - -1)
L 07/19/2013 - 17:00:14: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "w3s\War3So
urce_054_Trapsmith.smx":
L 07/19/2013 - 17:00:14: [SM]   [0]  Line 465, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\include\entity.inc::GetEntSendPr
opOffs()
L 07/19/2013 - 17:00:14: [SM]   [1]  Line 403, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\include\entity_prop_stocks.inc::
SetEntityRenderColor()
L 07/19/2013 - 17:00:14: [SM]   [2]  Line 287, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\War3Source_054_Trapsmith.sp::Air
Timer()
L 07/19/2013 - 17:00:47: [SM] Native "GetEntityNetClass" reported: Invalid entit
y (-1 - -1)
L 07/19/2013 - 17:00:47: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "w3s\War3So
urce_054_Trapsmith.smx":
L 07/19/2013 - 17:00:47: [SM]   [0]  Line 465, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\include\entity.inc::GetEntSendPr
opOffs()
L 07/19/2013 - 17:00:47: [SM]   [1]  Line 403, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\include\entity_prop_stocks.inc::
SetEntityRenderColor()
L 07/19/2013 - 17:00:47: [SM]   [2]  Line 287, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\War3Source_054_Trapsmith.sp::Air



iceman: changerace trap
L 07/19/2013 - 17:19:54: [SM] Native "SDKHook" reported: Entity -1 is invalid
L 07/19/2013 - 17:19:54: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "w3s\War3So
urce_054_Trapsmith.smx":
L 07/19/2013 - 17:19:54: [SM]   [0]  Line 443, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\War3Source_054_Trapsmith.sp::Ear
thTimer()
L 07/19/2013 - 17:20:05: [SM] Native "GetEntityNetClass" reported: Invalid entit
y (-1 - -1)
L 07/19/2013 - 17:20:05: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "w3s\War3So
urce_054_Trapsmith.smx":
L 07/19/2013 - 17:20:05: [SM]   [0]  Line 465, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\include\entity.inc::GetEntSendPr
opOffs()
L 07/19/2013 - 17:20:05: [SM]   [1]  Line 403, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\include\entity_prop_stocks.inc::
SetEntityRenderColor()
L 07/19/2013 - 17:20:05: [SM]   [2]  Line 498, C:\Users\Nun\Downloads\sourcemod-
1.5.0-hg3855-windows\addons\sourcemod\scripting\War3Source_054_Trapsmith.sp::Pit
FallTimer()

@Hojjke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • In my view, you shouldn't know my view.
    • View Profile
Re: [TF2]Trapsmith [BugTesting]
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2013, 12:11:10 PM »
Also, will it work in the CS:GO? I just can't test it right know cause of my low internet connection. Anyway, i just would ask you to say is it supported CS:S or CS:GO? Maybe not all the traps...
« Last Edit: August 05, 2013, 12:14:17 PM by @Hojjke »

Remy Lebeau

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
Re: [TF2]Trapsmith [BugTesting]
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2013, 10:27:38 PM »
Also, will it work in the CS:GO? I just can't test it right know cause of my low internet connection. Anyway, i just would ask you to say is it supported CS:S or CS:GO? Maybe not all the traps...

It says it's a tf2 race... Given that it does things like "jarate" effect, I would say that it will most likely not work for CS (either CSS or CSGO) without modification.

@Hojjke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • In my view, you shouldn't know my view.
    • View Profile
Re: [TF2]Trapsmith [BugTesting]
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2013, 04:48:51 PM »
Ok, thank you for the information  :)