Author Topic: 1.2.0.x  (Read 31470 times)

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #50 on: January 18, 2011, 12:56:18 PM »
Oras update ur translations

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #51 on: January 18, 2011, 12:56:47 PM »
zero u were vegabond (18), switching TO panorama?

zero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • IBIS Gaming
    • Email
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #52 on: January 18, 2011, 09:40:04 PM »
Yes but as I edited above I found the problem was caused by having some races defined as the same value in race order. As soon as I gave every race a unique value the problem was fixed.

zero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • IBIS Gaming
    • Email
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #53 on: January 19, 2011, 10:38:31 PM »
The latest version displays numbers like 1 and 2 in chat when players change race.

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #54 on: January 19, 2011, 10:54:55 PM »
opps, ill recompile b5 and upload in a few mins

[Oddity]TeacherCreature

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
    • View Profile
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #55 on: January 24, 2011, 10:42:42 AM »
Quote
renamed 2 translation files (for each language) because TC admin likes to block them

Whats that about ?
How can an admin block a file and will renaming them force them on server, we are all very against teh whole translation system it is awful.
Let each server owner translate the parts they want into the language they want.

or only put translations on the core menus and shit but dont put them on races OMG that is such a bad idea

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #56 on: January 24, 2011, 10:43:28 AM »

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #57 on: January 24, 2011, 10:49:43 AM »
saying there shouldn't be translations is like saying we shouldn't package races and let admins make their own

translations allows for consistency and upgrade compatibility

<blow your mind> its likes saying we shouldn't have three phase AC power systems because there is too much capacitance, inductance in transmission lines, not to mention extremely hard to calculate fault currents in large scale power systems which is the root of all evil in EE455. </blow your mind>

[Oddity]TeacherCreature

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
    • View Profile
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #58 on: January 24, 2011, 10:52:44 AM »
The problem is two races the translated files were hard coded in the system

also it wouldnt be bad if u didnt make different natives for with and without translations
You make it more difficult for people to make changes because of the way you use translations not the translations themselves.

So I am not saying get rid of translations, but dont make them so rigid, flexibility and customability is what survives the mod

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #59 on: January 24, 2011, 10:59:46 AM »
hard coded?

its too difficult to add a T to the function call and remove one argument?

what suggestions do you have for making it less rigid?

[Oddity]TeacherCreature

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
    • View Profile
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #60 on: January 24, 2011, 11:07:08 AM »
no i mean if a person wants to alter teh wording of a skill they have to remove a t and add a new argument and then it wont work unless u do that to all of them, and a few times we made changes and it literalyl forced us to change shortname because it wouldnt accept them.. jsut a head ache and unecessary evil.

That aside can we please get a coding changelog not jsut a feature changelog

zero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • IBIS Gaming
    • Email
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #61 on: January 24, 2011, 12:23:15 PM »
no i mean if a person wants to alter teh wording of a skill they have to remove a t and add a new argument and then it wont work unless u do that to all of them, and a few times we made changes and it literalyl forced us to change shortname because it wouldnt accept them.. jsut a head ache and unecessary evil.

That aside can we please get a coding changelog not jsut a feature changelog

You mean this?: http://www.ownageclan.com/websvn/log.php?repname=war3source&path=%2F&isdir=1&

As for the translations in my case I have just removed them in favor of hard coded messages. It makes it easier to manage for me and it is not like I am translating it into any language other than English anyways.

The only thing I would still like to see is a bHasWardImunityBuff

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #62 on: January 24, 2011, 12:43:12 PM »
shortname needs to be clean
translations can be overwritten,  you are doing it wrong if you are changing skillnames by code
and the #1# feature allows you to change 1/2/3/4 stuff directly in translations

zero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • IBIS Gaming
    • Email
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #63 on: January 24, 2011, 01:33:14 PM »
You mean like this?:
Code: [Select]
SKILL_EVADE = War3_AddRaceSkill( thisRaceID, "Spider sense", "17-30% chance to evade shots", false, 8 );
SKILL_LONGJUMP = War3_AddRaceSkill( thisRaceID, "Agility", "Jump 20-160% further and run 10-40% faster", false, 8 );
SKILL_FREEZE = War3_AddRaceSkill( thisRaceID, "Web-shooters", "13-31% chance to entangle enemy in web", false, 8 );
ULT_WEB = War3_AddRaceSkill( thisRaceID, "Weblines", "Use your Weblines to travel", true, 8 );

Why would I use a translation file if I am not going to translate it into anything. It just waists my time.

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #64 on: January 24, 2011, 01:58:14 PM »
if the race is not translated, you can modify code

if race is translated, its better to edit translations

zero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • IBIS Gaming
    • Email
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #65 on: January 24, 2011, 02:53:36 PM »
Tired to update my races to use W3DropWeapon() and got: Native "W3DropWeapon" was not found

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #66 on: January 24, 2011, 04:24:24 PM »
and ur version is...?

zero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • IBIS Gaming
    • Email
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #67 on: January 24, 2011, 05:23:21 PM »
and ur version is...?

1.2.0.6 I did not post it b/c I would not have reported it until testing with latest version first.

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #68 on: January 24, 2011, 05:24:47 PM »
W3DropWeapon isnt released in 1.2.0.6

zero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • IBIS Gaming
    • Email
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #69 on: January 24, 2011, 06:16:33 PM »
But I thought that was the latest version!?

What good is the svn change log if it does not correlate to the most recent beta release? How do I know what code changes are in my release and which ones are not then?

From the logs: http://www.ownageclan.com/websvn/log.php?repname=war3source&path=%2F&isdir=1&

It would appear that these changes where made before the ones to race restrictions that are supposed to be in the beta 6 release or are the not?

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #70 on: January 24, 2011, 07:23:30 PM »
its for different people to work on parts of war3source
like sm has snapshots
http://www.sourcemod.com/snapshots.php
we periodically do a release if we feel it needed

if u want the latest revision, download it from the websvn

zero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • IBIS Gaming
    • Email
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #71 on: January 24, 2011, 08:17:53 PM »
Can you please then make the releases consistent similar to how it was for beta 5 in that we can see in the log when the last official beta was and know that everything below that is in the change log.

I just thought the point of the svn was also so you did not need to make detailed change logs for every new release. However if the release is not marked on the svn and or does not include all of the changes within the svn at the time of the release than the svn is useless for knowing what was changed.

As [Oddity]TeacherCreature has been requesting there either needs to be detailed change logs declaring exactly what is changed from one version to the next or the svn needs to accurately depict what changes have been made from one beta to the next.

I understand that you may have intended this as subversions but without letting us know what changes correlate to what beta release we can not provide accurate bug reports. Sorry if it feels like I am going to far saying all of this, I am just trying to promote ideas that I think will benefit all of us and aid in the development of this great mod.

Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #72 on: January 24, 2011, 08:38:08 PM »
we usually do mark it in the svn log, but sometimes we lose track because additional changes may have been repackaged into the same version number

[Oddity]TeacherCreature

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
    • View Profile
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #73 on: January 25, 2011, 09:04:22 AM »
It seems like the only translation we have is Russian? is this so ?
There are more germany servers out there why not do German?
Are you planning to do translations into all languages or do you just favor russia for some reason ?


Ownz

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • chmod -R 777 *
    • View Profile
    • OwnageClan
Re: 1.2.0.x
« Reply #74 on: January 25, 2011, 10:43:25 AM »
does it look like i know 50 languages?
russian has translations because these russians came to me and contributed to the translations
<insert ethnicity here> is welcome to contribute